What is gonorrhoea?

Gonorrhoea is a common sexually transmitted disease (STD). Gonorrhoea is caused by Neisseria gonorrhoeae, a bacterium that can grow and multiply easily in the warm, moist areas of the reproductive tract, including the cervix (opening to the womb), uterus (womb), and fallopian tubes (egg canals) in women, and in the urethra (urine canal) in women and men. The bacterium can also grow in the mouth, throat, eyes, and anus. Therefore, it can be transmitted from oral, vaginal and anal sex.

How common is gonorrhoea?

Gonorrhoea is a very common infectious disease. CDC estimates that more than 700,000 persons in the U.S. get new gonorrhoeal infections each year. Less than half of these infections are reported to CDC. It is even more common in developing countries where antibiotic resistance has emerged.

How do people get gonorrhoea?

Gonorrhoea is spread through contact with body fluid from the penis, vagina, mouth, or anus. Ejaculation does not have to occur for gonorrhoea to be transmitted or acquired. It can also be transmitted by unprotect oral sex. Gonorrhoea can also be spread from mother to baby during delivery.

People who have had gonorrhoea and received treatment may get infected again if they have sexual contact with a person infected with gonorrhoea. The body does not develop immunity to it.

Who is at risk for gonorrhoea?

Any sexually active person can be infected with gonorrhoea. From our local data, the most common places people acquire gonorrhoea are from developing countries like China, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam. More people catch gonorrhoea from unprotected oral sex than vaginal intercourse as more people have oral sex unprotected.

What are the signs and symptoms of gonorrhoea?

Although some men with gonorrhoea do not have any symptom, most men have signs or symptoms that appear one to fourteen days after infection. Symptoms from vaginal or anal contact tend to appear earlier compared to after oral sex. Symptoms and signs include a burning sensation when urinating, and/or a white/yellow, or greenish discharge from the penis. Sometimes men with gonorrhoea get painful or swollen testicles after the bacteria had travelled up the urinary track.

Although some men with gonorrhoea do not have any symptom, most men have signs or symptoms that appear one to fourteen days after infection.

Symptoms from vaginal or anal contact tend to appear earlier compared to after oral sex.

Symptoms and signs of Men

1. burning sensation when urinating
2. a white/yellow, or greenish discharge from the penis
3. painful or swollen testicles 

In women, the symptoms of gonorrhoea are often mild, however most infected women have no symptoms. Even when a woman has symptoms, they can be so non-specific as to be mistaken for a bladder or vaginal infection and being treated as an UTI.

The initial symptoms and signs in women

1. a painful or burning sensation when urinating, increased vaginal discharge, or vaginal bleeding between periods.
2. at risk of developing serious complications, such as pelvic inflammatory disease, fallopian tube infection and abscess, ectopic pregnancy and infertility

Symptoms of rectal infection in both men and women
1. discharge, anal itching, soreness, bleeding, or painful bowel movements. 2. Rectal infection also may cause no symptoms.
3. Infections in the throat may cause a sore throat, enlarged lymph glands in the neck and tonsillitis, but in majority of cases, there is no symptom.

Untreated gonorrhoea can cause serious and permanent health problems in both women and men.

Pelvic inflammatory disease (PID) is the most common complication after gonorrhoea infection. The symptoms range from mild lower abdominal/pelvic pain to very severe including fever.
PID can lead to internal abscesses (pus-filled “pockets” that are hard to cure) in the pelvis which can lead to long-lasting, chronic pelvic pain. PID can damage the fallopian tubes and permanent blockage that leads to infertility or increase the risk of ectopic pregnancy.

Ectopic pregnancy is a life-threatening condition in which a fertilized egg grows outside the uterus, usually in a fallopian tube. It can lead to rupture of the fallopian tube which can result in massive internal bleeding.

In men, gonorrhoea can cause epididymitis and orchitis, a painful condition of the ducts attached to the testicles or the testes itself. It causes severe pain and may lead to infertility if left untreated.

Gonorrhoea can spread to the blood or joints. This condition can be life threatening or causing damage to heart valves. In addition, people with gonorrhoea are more susceptible to HIV, the virus that causes AIDS. HIV-infected people with gonorrhoea can transmit HIV more easily to someone else than if they did not have gonorrhoea.

If a pregnant woman has gonorrhoea, she may give the infection to her baby through vaginal delivery. The infection can cause blindness, joint infection, or a life-threatening blood infection in the baby. Treatment of gonorrhoea as soon as it is detected in pregnant women will reduce the risk of these complications. Pregnant women should consult sexual health provider for appropriate examination, testing, and treatment.

There are laboratory tests to diagnose gonorrhoea. The most accurate test for gonorrhoea is gonorrhoea DNA test which test for the presence of bacteria in the specific site.

It is most commonly performed using urine. Specifically urine should be held for two hours and using the first part of urine. DNA test can detect gonorrhoea in very small quantity usually from 3 days after an exposure.

It can also be performed using specimen collected from other sites such as oral cavity, cervix/vagina or rectum depending on the exposure. In our centre, some samples can be mixed after collection to determine the presence of infection.

A quick laboratory test for gonorrhoea in men with symptoms that can be done in some clinics or doctor’s offices is a Gram stain or an antigen rapid test. A Gram stain of a sample from a urethra allows the doctor to see the gonorrhoea bacterium under a microscope. An antigen test detects the presence of bacteria in urethral discharge and result can be obtained in 10 minutes.

Antibiotics can successfully cure gonorrhoea in adolescents and adults.

However, drug-resistant strains of gonorrhoea are increasing in many areas of the world, including the United States, and successful treatment of gonorrhoea is becoming more difficult. CDC now recommends dual therapy (i.e. using two drugs) for the treatment of gonorrhoea, usually with azithromycin and ceftriaxone. Persons with gonorrhoea should be tested for other STDs.

Although medication will cure the infection, it will not repair any permanent damage done by the disease. People who have had gonorrhoea and have been treated can get the disease again if they have sexual contact with persons infected with gonorrhoea. If symptoms continue even after completing antibiotics, he or she should return for reevaluation.

什麼是淋病?

淋病是常見的一種性傳播疾病(STD),由淋球菌引致。這種細菌的生長和繁殖在溫暖,潮濕的地區,生殖道,包括的子宮頸、子宮、輸卵管,及男女性的尿道中。淋球菌也能生長在口腔、咽喉、眼睛和肛門。因此,它可以從口交、陰道和肛門性行為傳播。

淋病有多普遍?

淋病是一種很常見的的性傳染病。 美國疾控中心(CDC)估計,每年有超過 700,000人在美國獲得新的淋菌性感染,而這數字可能不及真實個案的一半,而淋菌性感染在一些發展中國家更經常出現抗生素耐藥性的情況。

如何感染到淋病?

淋病是因接觸到從陰莖、陰道、口腔、或肛門的體液而授感染,亦可在沒有射精的情況下傳播,此外亦可通過口交傳播。淋病也可在分娩時由母親傳染給嬰兒。 淋病即使在接受治療後亦可重複感染,身體不會產生免疫力,只要再和患有淋病的人有性接觸,就可能再被感染。

誰最有機會感染淋病?

任何性活躍的人都可感染到淋病。從本地數據,人們最常感染到淋病的地方,來自中國,菲律賓,泰國,越南等發展中國家。很多的人透過無保護口交感染到淋病,因為大多數的人口交沒有正確使用安全套。

雖然一些人在感染到淋病後沒有任何症狀,但大多數男性,在感染後14天內出現症狀或體徵。

男性淋病症狀和體徵

1. 排尿時有燒灼感,或有白色、黃色或綠色的分泌物從尿道排出。
2. 有時男性感染淋病後會因細菌由尿道上傳到睾丸而引致睾丸炎,睾丸會疼痛和腫脹。

女性淋病症狀和體徵

大多數受淋病感染的婦女都沒有任何症狀,即使有症狀,往往很輕微及被誤診為膀胱或陰道感染,並作為尿道感染般治療。病感染初期的症狀包括小便時疼痛或有燒灼感,陰道分泌物增多,甚至出血或性交期間流血。

淋病可以發展成嚴重的並發症,如盆腔炎,輸卵管感染和膿腫,宮外孕和不孕等,而產生並發症的風險,與症狀的嚴重程度無關。 直腸感染的症狀可能包括有分泌物排出、肛門瘙癢、疼痛、出血、或排便疼痛。而喉嚨的感染可能會導致咽喉疼痛,頸部淋巴腺腫大和扁桃體發炎,但在大多數情況下,患者沒有任何症狀。 典型的白色尿道分泌物

無論是男仕或女仕,未經治療的淋病都可引起嚴重的和永久的健康問題。

盆腔炎(PID)是淋病感染後最常見的並發症。
症狀的範圍由輕微的下腹部/盆腔疼痛到非常嚴重的發燒及盆腔內部膿腫,從而導致長期和慢性盆腔疼痛(膿腫)。

盆腔炎可以破壞輸卵管引致永久堵塞,導致不孕或增加宮外孕的危險性。宮外孕是可以威脅性命,當其中一個受精卵子生長在子宮外,這通常發生在輸卵管中,這情況可以導致輸卵管破裂,導致大量內出血。

男性,淋病可引起附睾炎和睾丸炎,它會導致劇烈疼痛,如果不及時治療,可能導致不孕。淋病可以傳播到血液或關節,這種情況可危及生命或導致心臟瓣膜損害。此外,淋病患者人受艾滋病毒感染風陰亦會增加。

如果孕婦有淋病,她可能會感染到她的寶寶通過陰道分娩。感染可導致失明,關節感染,或在嬰兒的威脅生命的血液感染。只要它是在檢測孕婦淋病治療會降低這些並發症的風險。

孕婦應諮詢性健康服務提供者,相應的檢查,測試,和治療。

最準確的測試淋病是淋病的DNA測試,測試特定部位(如口腔、尿道、陰道或肛門內的淋球菌。

最常使用的是尿液樣本,而測試前兩小時不能排尿,並使用第一部分尿液(剛排出的尿液,而非中段小便)。

DNA測試可以在接觸後3天檢測,即使淋球菌的數量可能極少。我們也可以根據接觸部位,如口腔,子宮頸 /陰道或直腸等,採集不同的標本,而我們中心,可以混合不同樣本,以確定感染的存在與否。

男性如有淋病症狀,可以在診所接受淋病快速測試,測試有兩種:

1. 革蘭氏染色
2. 淋病抗原快速檢測。

革蘭氏染色需要從尿道拿取分泌樣本,然後進行染色,允許醫生在顯微鏡下看到的淋病細菌。

新一種抗原檢測從尿道分泌物中檢查淋球菌的存在,並可以在10分鐘內獲得結果。無論男女,若在沒有病症的情況下,淋球箘DNA檢測是最準確的檢測方法,此方法可使用尿液樣本檢查,十分方便,但亦可於口腔、陰道或直腸拿取樣本。

通常淋病可使用抗生素完全治愈

然而,淋病的耐藥菌越來越多,在世界的許多地區,包括美國及多個亞洲地區,治療淋病越來越的難。
現在美國疾控中心〔CDC〕建議治療淋病使用「雙療法」(即同時使用兩種抗生素),通常以阿奇黴素(Azithromycin)和頭孢三嗪(Ceftriazone),並為淋病病人,進行其他性傳染病測試。 雖然藥物可以治療感染,使它不會修復由淋病做成的永久性的損害,如輸卵管阻塞。

患有淋病雖經治療後,若再與淋病感染者再有性接觸,可從新感染。在完成抗生素治療後,患者應再覆診檢查,以確保病菌完全清除。

本網站所提供的資訊,無意代替專業醫療諮詢,其內容亦不擬作為醫療診斷或治療之用。使用者在接受任何新的治療前,或使用者對醫療症狀,或是發現或懷疑個人健康出現任何問題時,應及早諮詢醫生或其他合資格的醫療人員,以免延誤診治。本網頁內容僅供參考,絕非任何診斷、醫療方法或假藥物之推薦。