Molluscum contagiosum is a viral infection of the skin or occasionally of the mucous membranes. It is caused by a DNA poxvirus called the molluscum contagiosum virus (MCV).

MCV has no animal reservoir, infecting only humans.
There are four types of MCV, MCV-1 to -4; MCV-1 is the most prevalent and MCV-2 is seen usually in adults and often sexually transmitted. This common viral disease has a higher incidence in children, sexually active adults, and those who are immunodeficient, and the infection is most common in children aged one to ten years old. MC can affect any area of the skin but is most common on the trunk of the body, arms, and legs. It is spread through direct contact or shared items such as clothing or towels.

The virus commonly spreads through skin-to-skin contact. This includes sexual contact or touching or scratching the bumps and then touching the skin. Handling objects that have the virus on them (fomites), such as a towel, can also result in infection. The virus can spread from one part of the body to another or to other people. The virus can be spread among children at day care or at school. Molluscum contagiosum is contagious until the bumps are gone (which, if untreated, may last up to 6 months or longer).

The time from infection to the appearance of lesions can range up to 6 months, with an average incubation period between 2 and 7 weeks.

Diagnosis is made on the clinical appearance; the virus cannot routinely be cultured. The diagnosis can be confirmed by excisional biopsy but is often unnecessary.

Symptoms

Molluscum contagiosum lesions are flesh-colored, dome-shaped, and pearly in appearance. They are often 1–5 millimeters in diameter, with a dimpled center. They are generally not painful, but they may itch or become irritated.

Picking or scratching the bumps may lead to further infection or scarring. In about 10% of the cases, eczema develops around the lesions. Bleeding may occur if the lesions are scratched.

The viral infection is limited to a localized area on the topmost layer of the epidermis. Once the virus containing head of the lesion has been destroyed, the infection is gone. The central waxy core contains the virus.

In a process called autoinoculation, the virus may spread to neighboring skin areas. Children are particularly susceptible to autoinoculation, and may have widespread clusters of lesions.

Individual molluscum lesions are usually self limiting and can go away on their own. The infection is generally 6 weeks to 3 months. However via a process call “autoinoculation”, in which the infected person reinfecting one’s self. The disease may propagate lasts longer with mean durations variously reported as 8 months, to about 18 months, and with a range of durations from 6 months to 5 years.

Treatment for Molluscum Contagiosum is often unnecessary depending on the location and number of lesions, and no single approach has been convincingly shown to be effective. It should also be noted that treatments causing the skin on or near the lesions to rupture may spread the infection further, much the same as scratching does. Nonetheless, treatment may be sought for the following reasons:

Medical issues including:

1.Bleeding
2.Secondary infections
3.Itching and discomfort
4.Potential scarring
5.Chronic keratoconjunctivitis

Social reasons

1.Cosmetic
2.Embarrassment
3.Fear of transmission to others
4.Social exclusion

Many health professionals recommend treating bumps located in the genital area to prevent them from spreading. The virus lives only in the skin and once the lesions stop multiplying, the virus is gone and cannot be spread to others.

When treatment has resulted in elimination of all bumps, the infection has been effectively cured and will not reappear unless the patient is reinfected. In practice, it may not be easy to see all of the molluscum contagiosum bumps. Even though they appear to be gone, there may be some that were overlooked. If this is the case, one may develop new bumps by autoinoculation, despite their apparent absence.

Cryotherapy involves killing infected cells by "freezing" them with a pressurized liquid spray, usually liquid nitrogen or nitrous oxide. The procedure can be mildly uncomfortable to painful depending on quantity and location of infected cells. The procedure can be performed by any medical professional.

Application of liquid nitrogen may cause burning or stinging at the treated site, which may persist for a few minutes after the treatment. Scarring or loss of color can complicate both these treatments. With liquid nitrogen, a blister may form at the treatment site, but it will slough off in two to four weeks. Cryosurgery and curette scraping are not painless procedures. They may also leave scars and/or permanent white (depigmented) marks.


For mild cases, over-the-counter wart medicines, such as salicylic acid may or may nothorten infection duration. Daily topical application of tretinoin cream ("Retin-A 0.025%") may also trigger resolution. These treatments require several months for the infection to clear, and are often associated with intense inflammation and possibly discomfort.

Imiquimod (Aldara)

Doctors occasionally prescribe Imiquimod, though the optimum schedule for its use has yet to be established. Imiquimod is a form of immunotherapy. Immunotherapy triggers the immune system to fight the virus causing the skin growth.

Imiquimod is applied 3 times per week, left on the skin for 6 to 10 hours, and washed off. A cure may take from 4 to 16 weeks. Small studies have indicated that it is successful about 80% of the time. Another dose regimen: apply imiquimod three times daily for 5 consecutive days each week.

Imiquimod has not been approved by the FDA as a treatment for molluscum contagiosum. This treatment regimen is reserved for 1% Imiquimod cream. If a higher concentration is used in a similar method, chemical burns or plausible nerve damage are possible.

Laser

Pulsed dye laser therapy for molluscum contagiosum may be the treatment of choice for multiple lesions in a cooperative patient. The use of pulsed dye laser for the treatment of MC has been documented with excellent results. The therapy was well tolerated, without scars or pigment anomalies. The lesions resolved without scarring at 2 weeks. Studies show 96%–99% of the lesions resolved with one treatment. The pulsed dye laser is quick and efficient, but its expense makes it less cost effective than other options. Also, not all dermatology offices have this 585 nm laser.

Most cases of molluscum will clear up naturally within two years (usually within nine months). So long as the lesion growths are present, there is a possibility of transmitting the infection to another person. When the growths are gone, the possibility for spreading the infection is ended.

Unlike herpes viruses, which can remain inactive in the body for months or years before reappearing, molluscum contagiosum does not remain in the body when the growths are gone from the skin and will not reappear on their own. However, there is no permanent immunity to the virus, and it is possible to become infected again upon exposure to an infected person.

Advantage of treatment is to hasten the resolution of the virus. This limits the size of the "pox" scar. If left untreated, molluscum growth can reach sizes as large as a pea or a marble. Spontaneous resolution of large lesions can occur, but will leave larger crater like growth. As many treatment options are available, prognosis for minimal scarring is best if treatment is initiated while lesions are small.


The information contained in the Website is not intended nor implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice. Readers are advised to seek professional opinions of your physician or other qualified health provider prior to starting any new treatment or if you have or suspect you have a medical problem or with any query you may have regarding any medical condition. Nothing contained in the website is intended to be for making medical diagnosis or promotion of any treatment or medication.

傳染性軟疣是一種關於皮膚或粘膜的病毒感染。此感染是由一種稱為傳染性軟疣病毒(MCV)的DNA痘病毒所引致。

因為病毒並不以動物為宿主,所以只有人類才會被感染。
MCV一共被分為四類:

MCV-1至MCV-4;當中以MCV-1最為普遍;而MCV-2通常在成人身上被發現,並且大部份也是由透過性接觸而被感染。這種普遍的病毒在兒童、性活躍的成年人、及那些免疫力有缺陷的人身上有較高的發病率。以兒童為例,感染最常見於一歲至十歲這個年齡層。
MCV可以影響身體上任何部位的皮膚組織,並以身體軀幹和四肢最為常見。直接接觸或共用個人物品,如衣物或毛巾,都是MCV的主要傳播途徑。

傳染性軟疣通常透過皮膚接觸散播,包括性接觸,或以已經觸摸或抓過皮膚凸起部份的肢體去接觸他人的皮膚,處理有病毒的物品(非生物媒介)如毛巾,也能導致感染。這病毒可以由身體的一部份傳染到身體的另一部份,亦可傳染到其他人身上。在日間護理中心或學校的小童是這病毒其中一個最易散播的地方。傳染性軟疣是極具傳染性的,只有直致所有皮膚凸起的部份都完全康復後,感染的情況才會停止。若不適時處理,這清況將有可能維持6個月之久。

從受到感染到外觀出現病變組織的時間可以長達6個月之久,而潛伏期平均在2至7個星期之間。

要確診是否感染是要經過臨床表徵診斷才可以肯定,這病毒不能以種菌的方式確診。雖然可以由切除性的切片檢查加以肯定診斷結果,但這醫療程序往往都是非必要的。

傳染性軟疣的徵狀


傳染性軟疣的病變組織一般都是顏色鮮艷呈圓拱型外表看起來很像珍珠
它們的直徑通常由1毫米至5毫米不等,並且擁有一個微凹的中心。雖然這病變組織不會帶來庝痛,但它們可能令患者感到癢癢,因而令他們非常煩躁。

刮掉或刮傷它可能導致進一步感染或留下疤痕。患者當中大約一成的人會在他們的病變組織的周圍會出現濕疹。刮傷病變組織也會帶來出血的情況。病毒感染只局限於表皮的最上層。一旦病毒包含病變組織的主要部份被破壞,感染的情況便不再存在。

病毒存在於病變組織的中央蠟狀核心之中。病毒可能由一個稱為「自身接種」的過程蔓延至鄰近的皮膚組織。兒童是特別容易成為病毒「自身接種」過程的受害者,令病變組織廣泛地傳播。

個別的傳染性軟疣通常只局限於自己本身,而且會自然地消退,感染期由6星期至3個月不等。可是,透過「自身接種」的過程,一個受感染的人會令自己再次受到感染,因此這疾病可能持續更長的時間。平均持續期由8個月至大約18個月,而這疾病有可能持續6個月至5年時間不等。

治療傳染性軟疣的方式是根據病變的位置和數量而定,一般輕微的狀況,治療往往是不必要的,而且亦沒有單一令人信服的方法證明是絕對有效的。要留意的是,治療或會引致感染皮膚上面或附近的組織進一步感染,這和抓傷感染組織所帶來的影響大致相同。然而,接受治療可能由於以下原因:

醫療因素:
1. 出血
2. 繼發性感染
3. 痕癢及其所帶來的不適
4. 潛在留下疤痕的風險
5. 慢性結膜炎

社交因素:

1. 美容
2. 尷尬
3. 恐懼令他人受感染
4. 被他人排斥

許多醫療專家建議治療位於生殖部位的受感染組織,以防止它們傳播。該病毒只生存於皮膚之中,當受感染組織停止繁殖,該病毒亦隨即消失,因此不會再使他人受到感染。當所有受感染組織都得以清除,感染的情況便已得到有效的治癒。除非患者重複感染,否則軟疣組織便不會再次出現。

在實際的情況中,能夠檢測所有傳染性軟疣的感染組織並不容易。即使它們好像已經全部消失,總是有一些有可能被遺漏的。如果是這樣的話,儘管在肉眼上看不出任何感染的情況,這病毒仍可能透過「自身接種」的過程而令患者再受感染。

冷凍治療包括 :

使用加壓液體噴霧「凍結」感染細胞以將其殺死,液態氮或一氧化二氮是最常用的液體。
此項醫療程序可能引致輕度不適至疼痛,不適的程度是根據液體噴霧所需要使用的分量和受感染的位置而定。此程序可以由任何專業醫護人員執行。

應用液態氮於受感染的部位可能會導致患者產生燃燒或刺痛的感覺,這感覺在醫療程序完成後仍可能持續數分鐘。留下疤痕或皮膚失去色彩可以令治療變得複雜。液態氮也可令治療的部位形成水泡,一般會在兩至四星期便會脫落。冷凍治療和刮匙手術不是無痛的醫療程序,而且亦可能留下疤痕和/或永久地使治療的皮膚部位脫色。

對於輕度的感染個案,非處方的贅疣藥物如水楊酸,可能會有助於縮短感染時間。每日局部應用維甲酸霜「Retin-A 0.025%」也可能會引發病毒分解。這些治療一般需要幾個月的時間才可令感染消除,而這些治療往往伴隨著嚴重的發炎反應和不適。

免疫調節劑(樂德美)

雖然使用免疫調節劑最合適的劑量還有待確定,但醫生仍偶然會處方這藥物。

免疫調節劑是免疫療法的其中一種。免疫療法能激起免疫系統來對抗引起皮膚增生的病毒。在一般情況下,免疫調節劑是一星期使用三次,每次使用後藥物要停留在皮膚6至10小時,之後便要把它洗掉。

治癒時間由4至16星期不等。一些小規模的研究指出,這樣的劑量成功治癒率可達80%。還有另一種劑量方案:每日三次,每星期都連續5天使用。免疫調節劑尚未被美國食品藥物管理局(FDA)批準作為治療傳染性軟疣的處方藥物。這種治療方案只會應用1%免疫調節劑藥膏。若以相同的劑量,但藥膏的濃度高於1%的話,便會有可能引致化學燒傷或潛在的神經損傷。

激光治療

脈衝染料激光治療可能對正尋求治療方案,和身上有多處組織感染傳染性軟疣的病人來說,可能是一個更佳的治療方案。有記錄顯示使用脈衝染料激光治療傳染性軟疣有非常好的效果。

該療法有良好的耐受性,不會留下疤痕或皮膚色素異常的情況。受感染的組織會在兩星期治癒,而且不會留下任何痕跡。研究顯示96%-99%的病變組織只需要一個治療程序便能治癒。使用脈衝染料激光能夠快速並有效地使問題解決,但是其高昂的費用使它比其他方案的成本效益為低。再者,並非所有的皮膚科診所都有這585nm的激光設備。

所有軟疣組織都會在兩年之內自然地清除(一般在9個月之內)。只要病變組織仍然生長,就會有感染他人的可能性。當增長停止,病毒便不能傳播。

傳染性軟疣和皰疹不同。皰疹再次出現在受感染者身上之前,能以靜止狀態留在這人身上好幾年。傳染性軟疣不會留在受感染者的體內,它們只會在皮膚上面生長,而且不會自己再次出現。可惜,現時還沒有能永久對抗這病毒的抗體,所以當皮膚曝露於受感的人前便有可能再次被感染。

治療的好處是能加快病毒的分解過程。這限制了「痘」疤的大小。如果不及時治療,傳染性軟疣可增長至如豌豆或波子般的大小。雖然病毒是會自然分解,但亦會因它的增長而留下更大的陷口。由於有眾多的治療方案可供選擇,若然不想在治療傳染性軟疣時在皮膚上留下任何痕跡,最佳的治療時機就是當感染組織範圍還是很小的時候。